What’s Your Story

What IS your story. I’m curious to hear it. In fact I’d like to write it.

Facebook is filled with all sorts of posts about finding your true self, about doing what makes you happy, and being who you are no matter what others think. I have for a long time been on a mission to do what I love. And what I genuinely love most is writing. I’d have to say I’m pretty good at it too.

I know the difference between to, too and two. I can define theirs and there’s, its and it’s and I have an enormous lexicon (if you don’t know what that is then you probably don’t). I’ve got a pretty solid handle on grammar and at times I’m a damn good story teller; in fact I’m getting ready to publish a couple of books soon. But like many writers, I come up short sometimes on what to write about next. That’s why I would really like to enlist your help.

yourstoryI’m on the lookout for good stories. If you have one you’d like to share, I’d love to read it. More so what I’m looking for are some good titles. That seems to be one of my strengths; to take nothing more than a title and pen a story based on those few short words. In fact, one of the tricks I use to keep writers block at bay is to make up lists of titles, then later pull them out and think about what they might turn into.

Here’s the challenge I want to put to you. Send me your titles. Jot down a few short words to serve as a title and I will write five hundred words or more based on nothing else but the title. I can’t promise it’s going to turn out anything like you imagined; then again isn’t that part of the fun in this? So let me see what you’ve got.

I’m open to just about anything you want to throw my way. I must first acknowledge that I won’t be able to do this for every title that is sent to me. I plan to choose one to write each Sunday for the month of August. That’s four, and if I’m compelled, I’ll do another one or two for the kicks.

I can’t promise any cash rewards. I’m just an aspiring author at this point who publishes three different blogs of various topics. What I can promise is to give you kudos for giving me good titles. And if by some far out chance one of those stories turns into a published work (other than my own blog pages or sites I post on for free) then I will in the very least buy you a night on the town. Sure, if it makes me rich I’ll give you greater rewards. Just don’t be holding your breath on that account.

So let’s have at it. Show me what you’ve got. I want to see some great title ideas. Anything spiritual, funny, enlightening, scary or even depressing. Don’t send me politics, that’s one subject I stay away from; even though I am passionate about my politics. I just leave that one to the professionals.

Post them to this thread on Facebook, LinkedIn or Google; or send them by email if you know me and prefer.

I’m sure there are some great ideas out there and I’m looking forward to bringing them to life. Now get to work on ideas and next Sunday I’ll share the first of those with you and maybe even some trailers of those to come.

2 thoughts on “What’s Your Story

  1. While waiting… That’s a topic I would like you to read what you write about. That precise moment in which you’re coping with your fears, doubts, not knowing what the outcome will be (expecting to hear the results when you had applied for a job, or have sent a letter to someone and are expecting their response…); I think your entry on this subject will be an awesome one…

Leave a Reply

